The four stages of wound healing

The four overlapping but distinct stages of wound healing are the central images of this book, which we will turn to again and again. The first stage is hemostasis, or clotting. Then inflammation, an important defensive posture that brings in critical helping cells, follows. New tissue formation and maturation  develop next. Finally, remodeling occurs, which is key to future function and restoration of health. Usually remodeling leads to some scar tissue, but discoveries such as those made in Bem’s work may help advance tissue regeneration and full restoration of new tissue, known as scar-free healing. 

  • Hemostasis (Days 1-3) 
  • Inflammation (Days 3-21)  
  • Tissue Formation (Days 15-200)
  •  Remodeling (Days 200-500) 

Clotting, inflammation, tissue formation, and remodeling serve as our signposts in wound healing. If the separate critical stages are interrupted or don’t follow the proper order, things go predictably off course. Self-injury, infection, harmful growths, and inflexible scars are a few outcomes that can occur from impaired wound healing. 

From “Designed to Heal: What the Body Shows Us About Healing Wounds, Repairing Relationships, and Restoring Community” by Jennie A. McLaurin and Cymbeline Tancongco Culiat